DLP2016 Thoughts

Recently on our Facebook Group people have been feeling overwhelmed and a little stressed about how this year is working out.  I understand their frustration and feeling overwhelmed.  I recently posted this comment on another person’s post regarding some of the others that also chimed in on feeling overwhelmed and wanting to give up.

“I couldn’t help but share my thoughts on this thread more clearly now I’m at my PC.

I feel sad for those who feel overwhelmed. I get it, I felt that way a year ago and didn’t finish DLP and dropped the group. I took a year off and realized that I put my own expectations on myself and I was disappointing only me. Not you guys not the A5 girls. just me. I changed my mind-set coming into this years project.

Take what you want from it, you paid for the year. Follow along and get inspired by others, try something new to you. Everyone is at a different place in their journey, personally, artistically. We are not the same or in the same place. I do what I can when I can and enjoy seeing those who have more time, resources, and energy to commit to their artsy style. As well as those who don’t and are busy doing what they can.

As I said this is not my planner, I have a Leuchtturm1917 for that. The binder I found on clearance was too big for that. I’m winging it with what I have available & what I can get discounted or with coupons. I’ve loved doing ATCs (PAC) for a while so I find that easier, sometimes. You can commit to as little or as much as you want with this.

Don’t give up 100% find out what works for you and use it to brighten your day. You’re not alone, we share a similar journey.”

I eagerly look forward to Saturday mornings to find out what’s next in our DLP journey.  However I’m not thrilled with the setup on the A5 website for this.  Yes I want to see examples, but what I want first is this week’s prompt/challenge. I don’t want to be overwhelmed with someone else’s talent before I even get to see what the prompt is. Now I’m not saying that I don’t want to see their take on it, because I do.  I just would rather have the option after I’ve settled into the week’s prompt and thought on it a bit. I love the talent of the A5 ladies and all they have to offer to us. But I can see how this can overwhelm people.

My only suggestion regarding the documented life project for 2016 for the A5 ladies is to separate the prompts from the examples. Make it easier to find a specific week’s prompt rather than scrolling through multiple examples of each week and that prompt. For example if I missed a week in March and I wanted to go back & do in April when I had time, the current format would have me scrolling through the weeks and examples until I found it. Just food for thought.

I’m still looking forward to seeing how this year goes. Mine DLP2016 is cross between an art journal and a smashbook. Knowing I was doing DLP this year and that I wasn’t going to use it as a planner I figured I’d do a smashbook instead. I didn’t even prep a traditional SMASH book for this year because of this. (I may need another binder.)

As I said in my comment, I hope that people don’t give up 100% especially not even a month in.  The only expectations are those that are set by you for yourself. Try to have fun with it, enjoy, relax, and do what you can.

Go join the fun if you are so inclined. You can find them here: Art to the 5th.

Leave a Reply

